www.jazzdrumming.de
 
www.jazzdrumming.de
 

home / projects & bands / Living School Workshop

 











deutsch | english

 

Living School Workshop

 
 

 

Founded in 1992, Berlin's Living School Workshop was based on an idea from Franz de Byl (Flz) first patronized by the Berlin Senate and later by the Charlottenburg - Wilmersdorf School of Music. The two principal teachers are Mack Goldsbury (saxophones) and Ernst Bier (drums). The workshop is directed towards music students and experienced amateurs of all ages.

Living School Workshop

Requirements are the ability to play an instrument, basic understanding of music theory, and experience in improvisation. The purpose of the workshop is to play and analyze contemporary jazz compositions with in preparation for a performance.

The material ranges from little-known mainstream compositions through free improvisation. The workshop is conducted on a weekend. On both days the ensemble rehearses from 12:00 until around 17:00. They work on a minimum of five compositions which have been chosen by the teachers.

During the rehearsal the ensemble will be coached by the teachers on the most important aspects of arrangement, rhythmic structure, improvisation, and individual creative expression. The workshop ends on the evening of the second day with a concert of the music that was worked on during the two days. The concert is open to the public.

In the 23 years of its successful existence (over 200 workshops), guest teachers have occasionally been invited to bring in their own compositions for the workshops to interpret. Among these are such well known jazz figures as:

  • ED SCHULLER
  • BILL BICKFORD
  • LINDSEY HORNER
  • BILLY BANG
  • PERRY ROBINSON
  • MARTIN LILLICH
  • HERB ROBERTSON
    and others.

 

Workshops 2017  

For the second half of the year, the Living School is scheduled for the following week-end at the A-Trane Jazzclub:

  • December 16th & 17th

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Register at : ernstbier(at)jazzdrumming.de

 

 
      top


 

Here you'll find the brand new webpage

for the Living School Workshop

http://www.livingschool.de

 

 

Ernst Bier

Ernst Bier

Ernst Bier

Ernst Bier

 

 

all Photos by Dietmar Liste

 

 

 


mail: ernst.bier(at)jazzdrumming.de
 

  created by jazzdimensions

www.jazzdrumming.de
 
www.jazzdrumming.de
 

home / projekte & bands / Living School Workshop

 











deutsch | english

 

Living School Workshop

 
 

 

Im Jahre 1992 gründete sich, basierend auf einer Idee von Franz de Byl (Flöz), der Living School Workshop in Berlin - unter der Schirmherrschaft des Berliner Senats und weiterführend der Musikschule Charlottenburg - Wilmersdorf, mit den Dozenten Mack Goldsbury (saxophones) und Ernst Bier (drums). Dieser Workshop richtet sich an Musikstudenten, -schüler und an fortgeschrittene Amateure jeden Alters.

Living School Workshop

Voraussetzung ist die Beherrschung eines Instruments, fundierte Kenntnisse der Musiktheorie und Erfahrungen in der Improvisation. Inhaltlich geht es darum, sich mit zeitgenössischem Jazz auseinander zu setzen und dies im Ensemble für einen Auftritt vorzubereiten.

Die Bandbreite des Materials reicht von wenig bekannten Mainstream- Kompositionen bis hin zu freier Musik. Der Workshop findet über zwei Tage an einem Wochenende statt. An beiden Tagen probt das Ensemble tagsüber von 12:00 Uhr bis ca. 17:00 Uhr mindestens fünf bis sechs von den Dozenten ausgewählte Stücke.

Während der Proben wird das Ensemble in jeder erdenklichen Weise von den Dozenten in Arrangement, Rhythmus, Improvisation und persönlichem Ausdruck betreut und unterstützt am Abend des zweiten Tages endet der Workshop mit einem öffentlichen Konzert der erarbeiteten Musik.

In den 23 Jahren seines erfolgreichen Bestehens (über 200 Workshops) haben auch ab und zu Gastdozenten ihre Musik interpretieren lassen:

  • ED SCHULLER
  • BILL BICKFORD
  • LINDSEY HORNER
  • BILLY BANG
  • PERRY ROBINSON
  • MARTIN LILLICH
  • HERB ROBERTSON
    und andere



Workshops 2017  

Die Living School ist für folgendes Wochenende im Jazzclub A-Trane geplant:

  • .....ihr werdet es bald erfahren!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anmeldung unter : ernstbier(at)jazzdrumming.de

 
      top


 

Hier gibt es eine neue Webseite

für den Living School Workshop

http://www.livingschool.de

 

 

 

 

alle Photos von Dietmar Liste

 


mail: ernst.bier@jazzdrumming.de
 

  created by jazzdimensions